Frances McDormand in the film Nomadland
Courtesy of Searchlight Pictures

WINNER: Nomadland

The Father

The Mauritanian

Promising Young Woman

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Outstanding British Film

Carey Mulligan stars as "Cassandra" in Promising Young Woman
Courtesy of Focus Features

WINNER: Promising Young Woman

Calm With Horses

The Dig

The Father

His House


The Mauritanian

Mogul Mowgli


Saint Maud

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director, or Producer

The brilliant Remi Weekes dedicates his Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer BAFTA win for his horror film His House to immigrants, migrants and asylum seekers. @NetflixUK #EEBAFTAs

Twitter: @BAFTA

WINNER: His House — Remi Weekes (writer-director)

Limbo — Ben Sharrock (writer-director), Irune Gurtubai (producer)

Moffie — Jack Sidey (writer-producer)

Rocks — Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson (writers)

Saint Maud — Rose Glass (writer-director), Oliver Kassman (producer)

Best Film Not in the English Language

Mads Mikkelsen as Martin in Another Round

WINNER: Another Round

Dear Comrades!

Les Misérables


Quo Vadis, Aida?

Best Documentary

An octopus touches the face of a man underwater

WINNER: My Octopus Teacher


David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet

The Dissident

The Social Dilemma

Best Animated Film

Two ghost-like souls in a pastel scene




Best Director

Frances McDormand and director-writer Chloé Zhao on the set of Nomadland
Joshua Richards / 20th Century Studios

WINNER: Nomadland — Chloé Zhao

Another Round — Thomas Vinterberg

Babyteeth — Shannon Murphy

Minari — Lee Isaac Chung

Quo Vadis, Aida? — Jasmila Žbanić

Rocks — Sarah Gavron

Best Original Screenplay

Carey Mulligan and Bo Burnham dance in character in a pharmacy in the movie Promising Young Woman
Merie Weismiller Wallace / Focus Features

WINNER: Promising Young Woman — Emerald Fennell

Another Round — Tobias Lindholm, Thomas Vinterberg

Mank — Jack Fincher

Rocks — Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson

The Trial of the Chicago 7 — Aaron Sorkin

Best Adapted Screenplay

Anthony Hopkins and Olivia Colman talk in The Father

WINNER: The Father — Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller

The Dig — Moira Buffini

The Mauritanian — Rory Haines, Sohrab Noshirvani, M.B. Traven

Nomadland — Chloé Zhao

The White Tiger — Ramin Bahrani

Best Leading Actress

Frances McDormand in the film Nomadland
Courtesy of Searchlight Pictures

WINNER: Frances McDormand — Nomadland

Bukky Bakray — Rocks

Radha Blank — The Forty-Year-Old Version

Vanessa Kirby — Pieces of a Woman

Wunmi Mosaku — His House

Alfre Woodard — Clemency

Best Leading Actor

Anthony Hopkins in the film The Father
Sean Gleason / Sony Pictures Classics

WINNER: Anthony Hopkins — The Father

Riz Ahmed — Sound of Metal

Chadwick Boseman — Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Adarsh Gourav — The White Tiger

Mads Mikkelsen — Another Round

Tahar Rahim — The Mauritanian

Best Supporting Actress

Yuh-Jung Youn in Minari

WINNER: Yuh-Jung Youn — Minari

Niamh Algar — Calm With Horses

Kosar Ali — Rocks

Maria Bakalova — Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Dominique Fishback — Judas and the Black Messiah

Ashley Madekwe — County Lines

Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya as Black Panther Fred Hampton in Judas and the Black Messiah
Glen Wilson / Warner Bros. Pictures

WINNER: Daniel Kaluuya — Judas and the Black Messiah

Barry Keoghan — Calm With Horses

Alan Kim — Minari

Leslie Odom Jr. — One Night in Miami…

Clarke Peters — Da 5 Bloods

Paul Raci — Sound of Metal

Best Original Score

A computer-animated Black man crosses a street carrying a briefcase and talking on a phone

WINNER: Soul — Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Mank — Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Minari — Emile Mosseri

News of the World — James Newton Howard

Promising Young Woman — Anthony Willis

Best Casting

“I’m only here because you guys are so brilliant!” Lucy Pardee thanks the @RocksTheFilm team, whilst picking up her Casting award at the #EEBAFTAs

Twitter: @BAFTA

WINNER: Rocks — Lucy Pardee

Calm With Horses — Shaheen Baig

Judas and the Black Messiah — Alexa L. Fogel

Minari — Julia Kim

Promising Young Woman — Lindsay Graham Ahanonu, Mary Vernieu

Best Cinematography

Frances McDormand and David Strathairn in the film Nomadland
Courtesy of Searchlight Pictures

WINNER: Nomadland — Joshua James Richards

Judas and the Black Messiah — Sean Bobbitt

Mank — Erik Messerschmidt

The Mauritanian — Alwin H. Küchler

News of the World — Dariusz Wolski

Best Editing

Riz Ahmed in Sound of Metal
Courtesy of Amazon Studios

WINNER: Sound of Metal — Mikkel E.G. Nielsen

The Father — Yorgos Lamprinos

Nomadland — Chloé Zhao

Promising Young Woman — Frédéric Thoraval

The Trial of the Chicago 7 — Alan Baumgarten

Best Production Design

Amanda Seyfried as Marion Davies and Gary Oldman as Herman Mankiewicz

WINNER: Mank — Donald Graham Burt, Jan Pascale

The Dig — Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana Macdonald

The Father — Peter Francis, Cathy Featherstone

News of the World — David Crank, Elizabeth Keenan

Rebecca — Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer

Best Costume Design

Viola Davis sings on a stage in a tent dressed in 1920s costume

WINNER: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom — Ann Roth

Ammonite — Michael O’Connor

The Dig — Alice Babidge

Emma — Alexandra Byrne

Mank — Trish Summerville

Best Makeup and Hair

Viola Davis as Ma Rainey

WINNER: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom — Matiki Anoff, Larry M. Cherry, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal

The Dig — Jenny Shircore

Hillbilly Elegy — Patricia Dehaney, Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle

Mank — Colleen LaBaff, Kimberley Spiteri, Gigi Williams

Pinocchio — Dalia Colli, Mark Coulier, Francesco Pegoretti

Best Sound

Riz Ahmed in Sound of Metal
Courtesy of Amazon Studios

WINNER: Sound of Metal — Jaime Baksht, Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh, Carlos Cortés, Michelle Couttolenc

Greyhound — Beau Borders, Christian P. Minkler, Michael Minkler, Warren Shaw, David Wyman

News of the World — Michael Fentum, William Miller, Mike Prestwood Smith, John Pritchett, Oliver Tarney

Nomadland — Sergio Diaz, Zach Seivers, M. Wolf Snyder

Soul — Coya Elliott, Ren Klyce, David Parker

Best Special Visual Effects

Two characters drive in a boat at sea

WINNER: Tenet — Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson, Andrew Lockley

Greyhound — Pete Bebb, Nathan McGuinness, Sebastian von Overheidt, Whitney Richman

The Midnight Sky — Matt Kasmir, Chris Lawrence, Max Solomon, David Watkins

Mulan — Sean Faden, Steve Ingram, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury

The One and Only Ivan — Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones

Best British Short Animation

Winner of the British Short Animation at the #EEBAFTAs is The Owl and the Pussycat! You can watch this film, along with most of our short film nominees on our BAFTA YouTube playlist

Twitter: @BAFTA

WINNER: The Owl and the Pussycat — Mole Hill, Laura Duncalf

The Fire Next Time — Renaldho Pelle, Yanling Wang, Kerry Jade Kolbe

The Song of a Lost Boy — Daniel Quirke, Jamie MacDonald, Brid Arnstein

Best British Short Film

“For anyone who has seen this film… You would know why I dedicate this award to the people of Palestine.” @farah_nabulsi picks up the British Short Film BAFTA for The Present. @NetflixUK #EEBAFTAs

Twitter: @BAFTA

WINNER: The Present — Farah Nabulsi

Eyelash — Jesse Lewis Reece, Ike Newman

Lizard — Akinola Davies, Rachel Dargavel, Wale Davies

Lucky Break —John Addis, Rami Sarras Pantoja

Miss Curvy — Ghada Eldemellawy

EE Rising Star Award

WINNER: Bukky Bakray

Conrad Khan

Kingsley Ben-Adir

Morfydd Clark

Ṣọpẹ Dìrísù


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here